About Sports Ministry

 The ministry was initially set up as Department of Sports in 1982 at the time of organization of the IX Asian Games in New Delhi and it was in 1985 that its name changed to Department of Youth Affairs and Sports. In May 2000 it became a ministry and in 2008, two separate Departments, namely, Department of Youth Affairs and Department of Sports, were created under two separate secretaries. Mr Anurag Singh Thakur is the current minister of Youth Affairs and Sports. The ministry foresees the implementation of various government schemes for sports and under its TOPS scheme (Target Olympic Podium Scheme) ministry aims to select and provide world class facilities to countries finest athletes who have potential to win Olympic medals. The ministry is responsible for giving sports awards in various categories which includes top sporting honors like Arjuna Award and Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award. The ministry has several organizations working with it to ensure a robust sporting ecosystem in the country like SAI (Sports Authority of India), NADA (National Anti Doping Agency), Khelo India and many others.